Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-19-2008, 09:46 PM   #1
Ensign

Please be kind to me gentle sirs, I have had the misfortune of growing-up not on the sea but in a desert; tho the sea was always much in my heart. I think of how much opportunity I had to have sailing experience that I had passed-up looking back I do not know why...for instance schools at sea.

Though I have a lot of "book smarts" I have little practical experience compared to some friends of mine but this does not preclude me from wanting to buy a ship and gain experience over time. I am in my mid-20s and in this life-changing route I have time to learn please do not assume I am someone who would do something stupid or irrationaly.

I simply mention all this because I would like opinions and input from experienced individuals without all the mumbo-jumbo I usually receive from people when I mention I want to learn something knew (like diving or spelunking both of which I received more criticism than help from experienced individuals who thought somehow they were born knowing how to do those things...).

Anyway; so with that little introduction hello...and my question is fairly broad but quite plainly I can take a lot of concise information in at once.

I do want to buy a ship; and when asking friends what constitutes an ocean worthy ship the general consensus is quite a lot of range but for myself I look generally towards schooners, ketches, or possibly a gulet. Why? I'll be frank - I like the way they look. I don't mean that in a child-like way I mean that in an aesthetic quality type of way...they're sleek, utilitarian, but beautiful ships. And the other blunt reason is I find more affordable ships in the lengths//crew requirements I want - in those types.