Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 03-14-2006, 11:08 PM   #1
lanecrampton

Default Ele. Power

I've got a question for you cruiser out there. I'm just getting started and have a simple question for the people that have been living on the hook for a while. I'm in the procces of buying my house battiers. What I'm woundering is right now I've got 2 109amphr gel battiers. I'm wanting to add at least another 200 amphr. would I be better served to add like 2 more of the smaller 8A31 116 amphr or 1 big 8G8d or 8G4d battery to bring my house power up. For charging I've got 1 110watt solar panel and 1 35 watt panel along with a 400 watt wind gen. plus a 75 alternator. This is going on a sail boat and room for the 1 big battery or the 2 addutional smaller ones isn't an issue. Any opinions or helpful thoughts. I'd like to buy them within the next few days. Thanks
Old 03-15-2006, 07:34 AM   #2
Lieutenant

Don't be too hasty to take advice. Research is worthwhile if you want trouble free performance in the future.

A good start on finding such information is at http://www.uuhome.de/william.darden/

Terry

Old 03-15-2006, 07:16 PM   #3
Commander

Lane: