Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 11-05-2014, 12:55 AM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Fremantle
Default Epoxy Impregnated Balsa Core Hull

Hi all,

My questions:

What are the advantages of epoxy impregnation of the Balsa core apart from the obvious?

Does this greatly reduce the risk of core failure through water intrusion or does it simply limit the damage from spreading? Or neither?

Thanks in advance.

Old 11-06-2014, 07:07 AM   #2

Send a message via AIM to delatbabel

I have no personal experience with such hulls but I know a fair bit about epoxy plastics and low viscosity plastics in general so I'll contribute what I can.

Firstly you need to look at the type of epoxy you are using. There are multiple different types which are differentiated by their viscosity and setting time (in particular for the application you are talking about). Other than that, there isn't much to tell apart one epoxy from another -- a low viscosity epoxy sold as a wood sealant and a low viscosity epoxy sold as a rust treatment are pretty much the same thing and will do each others' jobs, more or less. For what you are trying to achieve, which is to impregnate balsa, you need a low viscosity epoxy with a medium to long setting time.