Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 04-22-2006, 04:27 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Galley stores

I have been asked to crew as cook on a 2 month ocean going voyage. I have no idea of what to stock for a crew of 6, we will have no or minimun opportunity to re stock fruit and veg, milk, eggs etc as the places we will be passing are very expensive and we are trying to get by as economically as possible. Obviously I would be making alot of fish, rice and pasta dishes but I cannot find any help on any websites pertaining to nutritious meals for such a long voyage. Any ideas, I am a great cook on land but that is a whole other kettle of fish?

Old 04-22-2006, 11:55 AM   #2
Lieutenant

My friends Al and Beth Liggett on the yacht SUNFLOWER have some good advice at

http://www.setsail.com/s_logs/liggett/sunflower42.html

Terry

Old 04-22-2006, 01:15 PM   #3
Rear Admiral

Suggest first step is asking the crew what they like - no sense buying meat if all are vegetarians etc.

Then it's easiest to plan a 2 week menu of lunches and evening meals - and buy to fit. Then repeat that menu x numbers of times to fill your voyage period. We also back up with standard high carb stuff like pasta / rice which with minimal additions can make a filling meal - and have ingredients to make own bread when needed.

I'd suggest you stock up before you go only on those things you know will store well without a fridge, and are possibly more expensive or unlikely to be available at later ports of call.

There are few places where you sail for 2 months without hitting land (unless you are really slow) so to keep costs down would suggest buying lots of local veggies and meat / fish (whatever they have available in season at the places you visit) - and avoiding canned products.