Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 11-15-2005, 03:51 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Getting into sailing

Hey guys,

I am interested in getting into sailing and had a couple questions for you more experienced sailers. 1st off I am completely new to sailing, having never been on a sailboat before.

Am I better off learning on a very small boat or would I be able to safely learn (with help) on a boat about 27-33 ft?

How long should it take me to learn the basics of sailing enough to do some extensive coastal cruising by myself, and what is the best way to learn how to sail?

I have been looking online at boat prices, and it seems that for about 10-15,000 US I can get a 20ish year old sailboat in the aformentioned length, is that a good deal, too good of a deal, and what kinda (especially how expensive) of maintenance should I expect to do to a used boat before it would be capable of doing some long range coastal cruising?

Also, keep in mind that I am 100% new to this, so if I am forgetting anything, or you know some information that may help me on my journey learning more about sailing, please feel free to add your comments.

thanks a bunch

Old 11-15-2005, 05:41 PM   #2
Rear Admiral

Hi funklab,

Welcome.

IMHO you should start reading all you can on sailing trim, go visit a local yacht club and let them know you are seeking a racing crew spot for a year, and dial youself into appropriate local courses for the kind of sailing you seek to enjoy.

In one year with application you'll be confident enough to plan your next steps - perhaps buying own boat etc? It is certainly possible to go from newcomer to competent sailor well inside that period of time - it simply takes time both on and off the water.