Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 10-11-2009, 10:38 AM   #1
Ensign

I am brand new to sailing - have never even sailed at this point. Will retire from the Army next summer and have already arranged for sailing lessons and certification in the Houston, TX area. I want to buy a blue water boat capable of circumnavigation. I just read a great book that discusses 20 affordable blue water boats. My question to the forum is what is the smart way to buy one. How can I get it inspected? Is there a title or lien search I can do on it? Over due taxes - how would I know? etc. I'm a complete rookie at this and humbly solicit any expertise any of you might share. It's quite an investment and I want to do it right the first time. Thank you.

Old 10-11-2009, 11:30 AM   #2
Admiral

Firstly, welcome to Cruiser Log, Going to send you off to one of our sponsors - this time a Multihuller - Phil's advice although biased towards multihulls applies just as well to acquiring a monohull -- Click Here

Richard

Old 10-11-2009, 02:57 PM   #3
Ensign

"Welcome aboard"

What you plan is a big step but "Do-Able" with the right attitude and precautions. You have ask most of the correct questions, to begin with. You are also starting from a good position, I am also retired US Navy, however I began sailing/cruising early in my military service, about 1960. I also learned boat building, both wood and fiberglass, from an old sailer/boat builder mentor. I started out acquiring a series of older wooden boats for local coastal cruising in So. Calif. Once I was stationed where I could build a boat I set did just that and several more followed over the years. In '90s, just before my second retirement, I began building an Ingrid 38 from "bare hull'. This boat took me 9 years to build and another year to fit it out.