Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 12-31-2005, 11:48 PM   #1
sthrnlife

Default Laptops and Handhelds?? Use or No!!

I am new to the cruising/sailing community and am gathering information before I scout out my first trip. I am kinda an electronics "Guru" I guess my friends say, but with all of this technology out there, do many of you bring it aboard?? (laptops, handhelds, etc.) How do you manage accounts while gone, plan new trips, search weather, etc. from on board, again i'm new so sorry for the ignorance, thanks
Old 01-01-2006, 02:37 AM   #2
Admiral

At one time in our cruising life were all new, not so smart, and looking for answers to our many, many questions, and most of us still are looking for new answers to old problems; no need for you to apologize.

I am no guru, but I am a novelty freak. If it's new and unique I want to have it. The year that we left to cruise (1986) I left computer behind. Before the first 12 months were out I announced that I had to have a computer on board. Back then they weren't very fast, floppy disks were the transfer medium, and printers were large and bulky and amazingly power-hungry for such a primitive device.

Going on 20 years, I'm on my fifth laptop/notebook computer, and third printer. One of those five was a cheap knock-off that wasn't worth the money I paid for it, and it didn't last very long as a result.