Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 11-09-2008, 03:14 PM   #1
Ensign

Hello!

I'm taking a navigation and boating course in sweden right now, and also working as a volunteer on repairing a ship. Still I have little experience of sailing and I'd like to learn it in south america. I've been all over the web to find a course or a ship to work on to learn to sail, but with no good result. All I find are expensive sailing holidays. My ultimate goal is to a find a boat to hitch across the atlantic, if possible back home to europe after learning to sail. Anyone have any ideas on how to to find a course or a boat to learn to sail in the caribbean or south america? Preferebly where spanish is spoken and where living is not so expensive?

Best regards and thanks, Olof

Old 11-09-2008, 06:25 PM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

If you're trying to learn "on the cheap" why not volunteer for some of the local sailors there in Sweden? Lots of boats there, you know. Then, once you've picked up a bit of sailing skill, you'll be a more desirable crew member for folks cruising and would probably easily find a spot using the crew finder.

Best of luck to you in your search.

What we're doing - The sailing life aboard and the Schooner Chandlery.

redbopeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:58 PM   #3
Admiral

Quote:
Originally Posted by redbopeep View Post
If you're trying to learn "on the cheap" why not volunteer for some of the local sailors there in Sweden? Lots of boats there, you know.
It is winter in Sweden now and there will be very few boats left in the water at this time of year. Easter weekend is usually the first sail of the season.