Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 04-12-2010, 08:10 PM   #1
Ensign

Hi, I'm a registered Nurse from Australia. I have been registered for 9 years and I'm registered in Autralia and New Zealand. Could anyone give me information regarding registraion requirements when nursing on yachts. Do you reuire registration in the State/country where the yacht is docked, or in thw state/country that the yacht is registered under. Or will my Australian and New Zealand registration be ok anywhere on the yacht as it's considered international water??

Old 04-13-2010, 04:16 AM   #2
Admiral

In short, it depends where you practice nursing. If the boat is Australian Registered and flagged then you may practice nursing in any jurisdiction on the boat

In most Commonwealth countries your qualifications will be recognised and you may apply to that Country's Ministry of Health for Reciprocal Registration as a State Registered Nurse (SRN)- once you have that, you may practice as an SRN in that country.

If you wish to obtain recognition of your qualifications in other countries - suggest speaking to the embassy of the country concerned.

Old 04-16-2010, 10:01 PM   #3
Rear Admiral

If you're contemplating a voyage across the Pacific from British Colombia to, say, Australia and stopping along the way to practice your nursing skills... I would say Go For It!