Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-14-2008, 06:37 PM   #1
Retired Mod

Home Port: Durban

I have sailed halfway around the world and taken five years to do it. I hold a Yachtmaster offshore certification which I obtained before leaving on this voyage. Yes, I was the "captain" of my 44' yacht, but I would never dream of having a business card printed with "Captain" Joe Soap or even referring to myself as "Captain Joe Soap".

In our travels, we were given many cards by other cruisers printed as "Captain" Joe Soap. If it did not annoy me so much it would be laughable.

Besides "Joe Soap", who can really, officially assign himself as "Captain So-An-So"? Anyone who owns a floating tub that he is in charge of?

The World Cruising & Sailing Wiki

Help to build this free, online World Cruising Guide.

"Built by cruisers, for cruisers''

I've Contributed to the Cruisers Wiki: Most sections
Lighthouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 08:32 PM   #2
Admiral

Vessel Name: Persevate
Send a message via Yahoo to atavist

To my mind you are only a Captain by title if you earned the rank in a formal organization, Navy, Coast Guard, Merchant Marines, etc... otherwise captain is a billet not a title and should not be printed on business cards and such... Once I get my certs I will probably make business cards... it would say something to the affect. J. Jones, RYA Yachtmaster Ocean. Instructor Certified.... because at that time Yachtmaster Ocean will be the title/rank/degree/certification level that I will have... maybe I'm making too much out of this but I agree with you... Captain Joe Soap emplies not only that the guy owns his own dinghy but that he has commanded a ship and crew in a formal organization in which he was granted the authority by a third party.