Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-19-2007, 09:51 PM   #21
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie

Only rarely do I have the opportunity to be an expert. I have been making my living through writing since 1967. A printed work stimulates the imagination most and requires the least amount of situation development. A cinematic work stimulates the imagination least and requires a greater degree of 'set-up'.

NAME DROP ALERT!!!!!

I interviewed Frederick Forsythe for a TV show many years ago. He made a comment which I later saw repeated by Clive Cussler when he was speaking on US TV for a similar show. The essence of the comment was that 99% of readers want a good story and do not concern themselves with the accuracy of the premise...as long as it is entertaining. The remaining 1%, they claim, are the people who write letters about the colour of the paint on a particular warship, or the model number of a particular car being wrong.

I assisted in the development of a telemovie script about a love story, set during the time of the total destruction in 1974 of Darwin, by cyclone Tracy. The work was a great success. I remember being confronted by the son of a public official who was angry that his eccentric father's car bore the incorrect number plate.

I reiterate my earlier comments and paraphrase those of Stephen.....For the vast majority of people, entertainment is paramount. For a tiny and therefore insignificant proportion of the people, accuracy is important. This is why accuracy is a general rather than a specific consideration, and why there is a difference between fact and fiction, tale and documentary.