Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 12-12-2006, 12:11 AM   #1
Ensign

Send a message via MSN to EightyEight
Default Working while Cruising

Hi new to this forum, and wondering if it is hard to find short term work to suplement ones income. It is either that or spend all my savings and go back to the cold and snow of canada and build up another stash so I can go back out again.

Would also just like to say that this is a fantasic forum,it has answered so many Questions that I had. Keep up the good work.

Dave

Old 12-12-2006, 01:37 AM   #2
Admiral

Dave,

I share your sentiments entirely. This is a great place to be on the net.

As for your question, I am no expert (as they say) but I finance my cruising by working as a consultant. I do a few months job and that gives me enough to cruise for about a year. It means leaving NAUSIKAA in some appropriate place which tends to be pricey but well worth the peace of mind. My last job was in South Africa, my present in Yemen and I have anopther lined up (but not yet confirmed) in Russia from the middle of next year. That should give me a few months cruising in between.

Obviously, not everyone can do this, it depends upon what your background is. Others have their own methods ranging from writing (doesn't everyone want to do this) to looking for work in the ports they come to.

I hope you manage to find your way to cruise without digging too deeply into your hard earned savings.

Stephen

Yacht NAUSIKAA

WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU DID SOMETHING FOR THE FIRST TIME?

www.nausikaa.org.uk

= Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Lithuania
Nausikaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 02:02 PM   #3
Ensign

Send a message via MSN to johnnyonspot

Stephen