Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-28-2009, 11:12 AM   #1
Ensign

Hi Cruisers

My wife and I are doing our research in preparation to buy our yacht. Well set up for long term cruise. We were wondering if these is a general consensus around where the best place is to purchase. We are Perth, Australia based and would consider travelling almost anywhere to buy it when the time comes and sail from there. I have sailed my whole life, so I am not a newbie.

Old 01-28-2009, 12:03 PM   #2
Admiral

A guess might be - Freemantle WA.

However, it could depend on the type of sailboat it's size, age etc..

Questions :- where do you contemplate cruising - - warm or cold seas ??? what price range in Aussie money ?? With the world's economy in its present volatile condition - where to invest in a cruising sailboat at this time presents more than a normal difficulty.

Richard

Old 01-28-2009, 02:56 PM   #3
Ensign

Fremantle it is! Good guesstimate. Secret Harbour actually. I used to think that the best ever cruising yacht was a Roberts 47' Mauritius, for a lot of reasons. Lately I have been cruising as crew or helm on a Fountine Pajot Levezzi 40 and offshore racing on a Farr 38' so I see the value of both. The reality is that I can't afford a cat that would get me there.

For us we have decided that even though we can afford to service maybe as much as $850k with the mortgages paid off, debt free, we would rather pay cash for about $250k max and be free as a bird. When I finally put my feet on a deck that I own, I won't want to take them off.

You know the drill, kids nearly off our hands, sell the big house on the beach, downsize, rip some cash out and live the life. I'd love to see a forum waffle/purchase boat and go cruising ratio :-)