Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 11-03-2010, 09:21 AM   #1
Ensign

I recall that a few years ago, when looking to buy a house, after a few months of watching the market I had enough knowledge to have a pretty good guess at what a house would sell for at auction. That was enough time to develop the confidence to bid for myself.

Yachts, I'm discovering, are a whole different kettle of fish.

I've been researching the used boat market for many months now, trying to develop a deeper appreciation of why one boat is worth more than the next – and I'm still frequently perplexed.

Now it's true this is all desktop research and I don't necessarily know the final selling price (just the advertised price) but I'm still amazed that two boats that seem nearly identical in terms model, year of manufacture, fittings etc, can have widely divergent asking prices.

Until I get better at valuation I'm quite hesitant to become a serious bidder. Do others find this as perplexing as I do and does anybody have any advice about learning all this? Are there any rules of thumb to know or are there any good articles, books about valuation. I'd appreciate any advice..

By the way, if it relevant I'm looking for a cruising yacht, around the 40ft mark.

Cheers, Mike

Old 11-03-2010, 11:03 AM   #2
Admiral

Mike,

A very good series of questions !!

The boats :-

"2 x identical 40ft cruising sailboats built in the same yard, sold on the same day. Equipped with identical sails, engine etc. Both come on the market on the same day 9 years later in the same town. Both are in similar condition. One is offered at $149,000 - the other is offered at

$120,000."