Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > The Poop Deck
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-05-2007, 04:42 PM   #1
Ensign

I was part of a 5 man delivery crew in April helping to deliver a 42ft Jenneau from Grand Canaria to Dartmouth,the skipper and his 1st mate were both yacht masters and yachting instructors,the third guy had limited experience but was easy going,the fourth guy an Australian was 31 and also a yacht master who worked in the Med skippering a big motor yacht for some rich lady (so he said),to put it bluntly this Aussie guy was a complete a**hole,he was loud ,domineering,arrogant and very pushy,he may not have known it but he was doing his best to spoil the trip for everyone else,I would have prefered to have a complete novice on board rather than put up with him.I suppose my point is this,no matter how good a sailor he was and he was a good sailor mind,I would rather have been a man short or had another crew member who was totally useless rather than have to suffer this guys annoying ways,as it turned out he jumped ship in Portugal after 10 days and everyone was relieved apart from the skipper who had forked out this guys air fare from Gibraltar to join the yacht.I guess no amount of experience and skill can make up for being a difficult person to crew with.

Old 06-05-2007, 10:48 PM   #2
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie

It takes all kinds! Give me a happy neophyte rather than an angry expert any day of the week. Sounds like this bloke might have been one of the ones we rejected. I hope the trip had a successful conclusion after he shot through.

Best wishes

David

Auzzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 11:12 PM   #3
Ensign