Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Regional Cruising > SE Asia, The Red Sea & Indian Ocean > Regional Discussion Topics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 07-25-2007, 07:48 AM   #1
Ensign

I am sailing a 65 ft. ketch from Greece, through the Suez to Sri Lanka to Singapore. I am ready to start the trip anytime after October 15. I am open to any advice regarding the best time to make the trip and any advice regarding travelling through the Suez canal, restocking supplies etc.

Old 08-30-2007, 11:45 AM   #2
Ensign

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaidog View Post
I am sailing a 65 ft. ketch from Greece, through the Suez to Sri Lanka to Singapore. I am ready to start the trip anytime after October 15. I am open to any advice regarding the best time to make the trip and any advice regarding travelling through the Suez canal, restocking supplies etc.
Hi, Im a traveller currently in Egypt, hoping to sail out of Egypt towards asia. I am an engineer (have experience building wind turbines and other renewables) and can fix things. I can also cook and bake good bread. I would love to learn how to sail and was told that getting a ride on a sailing boat is one of the best ways to learn - I have worked on boats in barcelona and gibraltar marinas, maintenance and cleaning jobs. If you would appreciate company and help/work onboard in exchange for a sailing experience and ride to SE asia, I will be very happy to hear from you.

I know of these marinas on the red sea of Egypt, you may find some advice there:

Abu Tig marina, 30 km north of Hurghada

http://abutig-marina.com/

further down south near Marsa Alam

Port Ghalib

http://www.portghalib.com/main_site.html

There is also a marina on the Meditteranean coast , a little west of Alexandria:

http://www.porto-marina.com/docs/marina.php

Hope you find this info helpful.

Regards

Sary

Old 08-31-2007, 12:11 AM   #3
Admiral

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaidog View Post