Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 04-14-2008, 12:55 AM   #1
Ensign

Hello from yet another new member. I have been sailing for some time and enjoy it a great deal. I have been sailing small boats on the Hudson River in NY and on sheltered salt water. I have been a carpenter and cabinet maker and have had the dream of retiring on a sailboat. This does not entirely please my wife and like most men who have essentially been landlocked all his life I have all the trappings and baggage. A large house complete with a mortgage, a horse, dogs(large dogs) and momma has a parrot. Having a parrot is the same a having an autistic child because he requires constant care and will outlive you. All that aside I have now acquired a 1978 hunter thirty and have decided that while this vessel is smaller than I had originally planned it came to me in a way that made it very doable. I know a lot about this particular model and am using it as a vehicle on which to travel toward my dream. It is extremely seaworthy and seakindly and I can maintain it and sail it singlehanded quite comfortably. Good interior accommodations and cruiseability have been key issues. I didn't think that I would consider anything less than 34 feet but then along comes reality and smacks you right between the eyes. I have ocean time on a 44 ft Gulfstar CC Ketch and don't think I really want to deal with a ship of it's size. So I am looking to chat with people on the subject of cruising, early Hunters and initial fitting-out on a smaller cruising sailboat. A lot of loose ends but the dream is real and I am moving towards it. After a serious accident that has made work impossible I am looking at cruising in a more immediate light.

Old 04-14-2008, 02:38 AM   #2
Admiral

Welcome aboard Sailhunter

It is good to have you with us.