Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 07-09-2014, 04:56 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Morro Bay
Default Hello from Ca.

Hi everyone. My name is Jason. I have no sailing experience, but I will sail around the world fishing, diving, and hopefully meeting some awesome people.

I have 2 children 16 (daughter) and 13 (son). Right now my life is fully dedicated to them. Baseball, football, wresting, jazz band, FFA, softball, marching band, and freediving/spearfishing(kids are just learning). I also coach or am in booster clubs for all or their activeties. My daughter is getting ready to go to Davis to be Vetrinarian and my son is focused on sports and jazz, he is only 13.

The plan/dream is to build my own boat. I want to build it from steel, as I am an Ironworker. Travel the world in a vessel you built-anything better? I find myself reading on this site for hours, it is awesome. Thanks and hello to all.

Old 07-13-2014, 12:17 AM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

Hello and welcome aboard!

There are quite a few folks who have built or "finished" steel boats. All of them experienced welders who could take on the job and enjoy it. From a time perspective, I've heard that it is better to get the basic hull welded up by someone else (while you're working your regular job) and then you do the finishing work (and there's plenty of it, too). Food for thought.

Do enjoy the site. I've popped in for just a few minutes while we've got internet access at a yacht club on our journey (this one is Prince Rupert Rowing and Yacht Club in Canada).

Fair winds,

What we're doing - The sailing life aboard and the Schooner Chandlery.

redbopeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 01:02 AM   #3
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie

Hi Fishslayer,