Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-09-2010, 10:19 AM   #1
Ensign

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking for a few days, reading the threads after deciding a week ago to fulfil a childhood dream to take a year off sailing around the world. Thing is, timing's not right at the moment (have a 9 month old and 4 teenagers) so am planning to build up to this trip over the next 8 or so years.

I have no blue water experience but long history of successful dinghy racing so am planning to develop the skills over quite a long period!

Next year I'd like to crew on a Sydney-Hobart return and then maybe do this a few times. Next year we'll hire a little trailer-sailer, 22-25ft or so and spend a week in gippsland, the year after step up a bit and spend a couple of weeks in whitsundays and do this a few more times before we head off. I want to get some big boat miles under the belt before heading off into the deep blue. My idea is to get a 45-50ft ketch that's already live-aboard equipped in 2017.

One thing I've been staggered about is the level of technical and mechanical expertise that's involved in keeping a long term cruiser afloat! So, I've been thinking and would like to get your input... for a landlubber who knows how to steer and trim a sail what are the key skills I can learn about OFF the water that will give us the best chance of having a fun year at sea (and avoid dockside repair sharks!)

Things I've been thinking about include:
  • diesel and gearbox maintenance/teardown/rebuild
  • sail repairs
  • epoxy/glass magic
  • marine electronics
  • navigation (but I can always just rely on GPS right??)
  • "staying happily married at sea" course
  • seamanship skillls (e.g. never had to cope with seaway, big current, Cape Horn type storm)
  • planning a passage, dealing with authorties
  • provisioning, cooking at sea