Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > Living Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 09-14-2007, 09:52 PM   #1
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie

When catching dinner, how concerned are cruisers about catching fish which carry the ciguatera toxin? I only know what amounts to 'folklore'. In Australian waters many anglers avoid eating large fish which are known to dwell amid coral reefs. The parrot fish (beautiful fillets!!) is known to be particulrly prone to ciguatera.

I understand fish caught in deep water, or away from coral, do not carry ciguatera. Is this correct?

Cheers

David.

Auzzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 11:16 PM   #2
Ensign

Hi David

First I am not a doctor so my remarks are just from research and first hand experience. In the 90's I traveled through the South Pacific for a number of years including NZ and Oz. My sister warned me before leaving about the perils of ciguatera. I contacted University of Hawaii researcher who was getting a test kit ready for insurance approval before putting it on the market.

http://cigua.oceanit.com/

Later we cruised with a couple on a West sail 43 and he was the guy reviewing her data for the insurance company approval. The researcher at UofH had a very serious case of ciguatera and even many years later still suffered side effects. The UofH researcher spent about an hour with my on the phone explaining the problems and seriousness of the poising.

I refer you to http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/ciguatera/