Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > Living Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 05-28-2012, 04:32 AM   #1
Admiral

Home Port: Bundarra, NSW
Vessel Name: None
Default Electrical load analysis

Hey guys,

As mentioned about 10 days ago I finally bought a yacht, the SV Kepelina which is a Hartley Queenslander pilothouse sloop. Haven't been up to Sydney yet to see it, but one thing I do know is that it needs a lot of electrical stuff installed, and being an electronics tech I've had a think about what is required as a minimum to make her usable around Sydney Harbour as a live-aboard.

Already present is an 80W solar panel and 100AH battery, mast light, running lights, and a Raymarine Autohelm 2000 (which needs fitting). But my needs are a bit higher than this, so here's a quick list together with estimated usage.

240V power - via 1000W inverter ($34 from eBay!)

240 volt items Rating Est. daily usage (Watt Hours) Notes

Soldering iron - 40W - 3
Cabin Lights - 60W - 240 - Compact flouros
Printer - 60W - 5 - Nav charts
Power Tools - 1kW - 80
Television - 40W - 120

12 volt items Rating Estimated daily usage (Watt Hours)

Radios (standby) - 10W - 60
Radios (xmit) - 50W - 25
Chargers - 20W - 60 - phone, battery drill
Notebook (Nav) - 40W - 40
Water pumps - 12W - 1 - solar collector to tank
Autohelm - 10W - 80
12v lights - 30W - 360 - mast and running lights
Engine starter - 1200W - 40

Input

2 x 80W solar panels - 1280W (est. 8H sunshine per day average)

Battery

12V 100AH = 1200W available

The total power usage and capacity of the battery (and solar panels) matches pretty well, although a second battery would be advisable for redundancy when out on the ocean. Around the harbour this setup should be adequate.

Desirable items which have been omitted are:

1kW microwave @ 3min/day = 50W.H usage
Fridge (heavy usage)
Bread maker (heavy usage)