Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > Living Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 09-08-2010, 12:57 PM   #1
Ensign

Greetings everyone.

I was looking for some advice on taking care of sensitive electronics while on a long ocean passage.

In the spring of 2011 I am looking to crew on a Pacific crossing to either New Zealand or Australia, from anywhere in the Americas. I plan to travel and work in New Zealand for a year, and move on from there to continue my travels. I have prepared myself as much as possible to better my chances of finding a boat looking for crew, but that's not what this post is about.

I am a photographer and have some pretty valuable gear. Can anyone recommend some strategies to protect my gear in such a damp and humid environment? Should I basically vaccuum seal my important gear until I get to New Zealand, and use an older camera to take my photos during the passage? There is also the option of having my gear mailed to me from home once I get set up in NZ, but that would be my last resort as I will also be doing a bit of travelling in North Amerca on my way to wherever the departure point might be. So I will obviously want to have my best equipment for that segment.

Not so much of a "tell me what i should do!!" post - but if anyone has any experiences (good or bad, or tips on taking care of stuff) with electronics, specifically camera gear, on long ocean passages, I would appreciate to hear about them!

Thanks!

Marc

Old 09-08-2010, 03:28 PM   #2
Rear Admiral

Home Port: Hamburg
Vessel Name: Aquaria

Hi Marc,