Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > Living Aboard > The Galley
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-19-2013, 01:00 AM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: campbell river
Red face SaltWater in Bath?

Hey Cruisers, I am a newbie and hope this is not to stupid of a question. I have small portable bathtub, and was wondering if was okay to add some seawater to it? I have salt baths at home all the time, but want to be "safe". Thanks so much for any input...

Old 01-19-2013, 02:03 AM   #2
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie

I have no specific medical knowledge, but......

The benefits of a saline bath are best delivered when the concentration of sodium chloride is at the same level as that of the salt which exists naturally in our bodies. For this reason, saline solution is used to clean wounds. Sea water contains a whole lot of things, some of which are beneficial, some of which are not. Cuts which are exposed to sea water and which are not then flushed with 'clean' water, can readily become infected and ulcerated.

One of the major contaminants of sea water is waste. Faecal streptococci and industrial pollutants have well documented negative effects upon inshore fisheries, and can lead to illness in humans who either injest water by mouth or whose scratches and cuts are exposed.

I assume, therefore, that bathing in sea water drawn from the open ocean would be far safer than that which is drawn from inshore waters, especially near larger communities.

An internet search will help you I am sure. In the meantime, if one assumes the major purpose of bathing is cleanliness, there can be no substitute for fresh, clean water.

Analagous to this, of course, is that little kids piddle in their bathwater and it doesn't seem to do anything other than to make people laugh...expecially when accompanied by the bubble butt.....

Auzzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:11 AM   #3
Ensign

Default E Gadz