Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Regional Cruising > The Med, Atlantic & Caribbean > Regional Discussions
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 08-19-2010, 02:54 AM   #1
Ensign

Dear Sailors;

I am a newbie here, and hope to pick your collective brainsfor some information to help me in the decision making processes regardingwhere to buy a boat, register it, and where I can sail it.

Background: I am a 55 year old single male. I live in Vancouver Canada,and hold both an EU (UK) and a Canadian passport. I have among others, CYAIntermediate Cruising standard, and am a qualified instructor to CYA basiclevel (10m daysail). I have been sailing for about 15 years on 24ft boats, andhave chartered in the BVIs, along with some short haul deliveries (40ft monos).

My work situation sucks at this point, (laid-off middlemanagement-telecom engineering), and the immediate future is not so bright, somy idea is to cruise for a while. Due to my locale, experience, andshort-handedness, I think it wise to buy then sell (after use) a boat in situ,that being the MED, or Caribbean, or both.

As funds are limited, I want to make sure I am notunnecessarily funding government departments.
  • Do I have to register the boat in the same country I buy itin?
  • Do I have to sell the boat in the same country it isregistered?
  • Do my Canadian qualifications have any bearing on where Iregister the boat, and what passport to use (EU/Cannuk)?
  • If I buy a boat in say Greece,UK, or Croatia, whatcountry do I register it in, or is that at my discretion? Then which med countrywould be best? I can get a UKmailing address.
  • The same question for Caribbean.Is Saint Maartin, better than BVI, or Panama etc

I also like the idea of buying a boat in Florida,and taking it down to the Caribbean. Are thereany legal issues I have to watch for?