Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Regional Cruising > The Med, Atlantic & Caribbean > Regional Discussions
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 10-30-2011, 07:18 PM   #1
Ensign

Hi all,

This christmas I want to sail on a 54' sailing yacht. I have heard that the conditions around the islands can be pretty

rough and that anchoring is often difficult. I have my RYA Yachtmaster Offshore, so I know how to sail, but maybe

somebody who has been to the islands already has some tips for me.

The trip I'm planning on making will take 8 days but I don't have a route yet. If you have tips about where to go, please

let me know!

Thankyou!

Old 11-04-2011, 06:11 AM   #2
Ensign

We went over to Ceuta, then down to Tangiers, andfinally down to Rabat before we crossed over to the Canaries. Tangiers wasinteresting, but dockage was crazy and expensive. We were rafted off two otherboats, and then another one rafted off of us, and they still charged us fullprice. Rabat was fabulous and I highly recommend it. The marina there isfabulous! And the city is great for exploring; very friendly people and lots tosee and go. Rabat is a super place to leave your boat and explore inland for acouple/few days. When we were there in November 2009, the marina was new and itwas only $100/week with free wireless internet& showers! I don't know how muchtheir rates are now, but if you have time you should go there. You need to callthem on radio before you get there & they will meet you at the mouth of the riverto guide you up the river to the marina.

Old 11-07-2011, 08:04 AM   #3
Rear Admiral

Home Port: Hamburg
Vessel Name: Aquaria

Hi Philip W

I assume that you plan sailing between the islands and not from continental Europe to the Canaries, as there won't be much time for sailing between the islands in 8 days when starting from Gibraltar or even from further away...

Guess, you already tried the Cruising Wiki with some valuable info!