Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Regional Cruising > The Med, Atlantic & Caribbean > Regional Discussions
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-17-2008, 02:31 AM   #1
Ensign

Hello everyone, I am new to this list and I am wondering if anyone could tell me if my plan is possible. I work as an English teacher and I would like to spend the winters teaching and the summers sailing.I will be working in Melilla, Spain from Sept 1st 2008 till the end of June 2009. Melilla is on the north coast of Africa across from Malaga. It is one of two Spanish overseas teritories in Africa. I want to learn how to sail this winter and then I would like to buy a trailerable sailboat apx 22ft? I would then like to sail this boat in the summer of 2009 over to Greece. I would then work in Greece the winter of 2009/10. Is 2 months enough time to sail from Spain to Greece? I will be new to sailing and I will be sailing with my wife who will also be new to sailing. We would only want to sail on nice days and close to the coast. Any input would be greatly apreciated.

Thank you

Old 06-18-2008, 12:08 AM   #2
Admiral

Home Port: Who cares really...
Vessel Name: T
Send a message via Yahoo to Trim50

Welcome aboard

Sounds like a wonderful plan. Personally I would want a little larger vessel to be making such a journey, but that is just me. I don't have my World Routes with me right now, but I do believe that the winds will be in your favor. I'm guessing that with a 22 ft boat you will likely be hugging the coast line and cutting through the Straight of Messina??

Old 06-18-2008, 02:40 AM   #3
Ensign

Thanks for the input.