Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > The Bosun's Locker > Power & Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-05-2011, 07:25 AM   #21
Lieutenant

Home Port: Gisborne
Vessel Name: Balaena Bay

Hi Jim, yeh pirates all over the place here in new zealand, trouble is they are all employed by the government! I'm just quoting what they told me when we tried to persue the ship for damages and blame. I let off a Spot but it didn't get to the bunker in the States till later. The ship was 40 nm away by that time, but the only ship in the area!

You can turn the "send" part of these devices off if you don't want anyone to know you are going by. I think its great tech , in bad visibility being able to locate ships would certainly make me feel more comfortable. I am not that experienced with radar but from researching I believe they can let one down when the weather is nasty.

I was using Seaclear and the charts I'd callibrated myself but mostly as a backup to paper charts. I guess in a courtroom my navigation skills would be decimated by a good lawyer. Having very little qualifications in that area. If I had an AIS transponder they would have on record my track and the ships. Being an independent source I guess the info would have more clout in the courtroom. I guess also that these ais devices could be used against a yacht also, say one is motoring directly into the wind when a collision occurs so its definitely a two edged sword.

Old 01-05-2011, 08:29 PM   #22
Ensign

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nausikaa View Post

Extract from Reg. 1224/2009

Automatic identification system