Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > The Bosun's Locker > Rigging & Sails
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-22-2010, 11:48 PM   #1
Ensign

I'm a newbie and am giving myself an education. I've been reading about the advantages of square topped sails and this seems to me a good way to get more power. I understand there would have to be a determination on the boat's and rigs ability to handle this. Assuming it was feasible is this something that could be done to pep up the action. I have seen these sails with battens or an upper boom that keeps it square. So what's that piece called? Anybody have any experience on retrofitting to a square rig and how did it work out? Aside from that I was just wondering if there was some sort of formula or guideline on a new sail purchase. If you knew the area of your sail then could you guesstimate the cost of a replacement sale for the different fabrics. Just a rule of thumb. Thank you Bob

Old 02-23-2010, 12:19 AM   #2
Admiral

Quote:
Originally Posted by flounder View Post
I'm a newbie and am giving myself an education. Assuming it was feasible is this something that could be done to pep up the action. I have seen these sails with battens or an upper boom that keeps it square. So what's that piece called? Anybody have any experience on retrofitting to a square rig and how did it work out? Aside from that I was just wondering if there was some sort of formula or guideline on a new sail purchase. If you knew the area of your sail then could you guesstimate the cost of a replacement sale for the different fabrics. Just a rule of thumb. Thank you Bob
Bob,