Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > The Bosun's Locker > Rigging & Sails
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-22-2007, 10:38 AM   #1
Admiral

Vessel Name: Persevate
Send a message via Yahoo to atavist
Default Gaff Rigging

This is actually two questions. 1) Why aren't more ships gaff rigged? From all that I have read it has nothing but benifits. 2) What would it take to convert a ship to gaff rigging?

thanks

Old 01-23-2007, 01:41 AM   #2
Admiral

Wow... is it really that dumb of a question?

Old 01-23-2007, 02:33 AM   #3
XTR
Ensign

I'm no expert but I'll toss out an observation or two. I've got no experience with a gaff rig whatsoever so I can't comment on the perforamnce characteristics but, more running rigging, more spars, more attachemtns for spars allowing more places for failure. Less ease of handling especially short handed.

And looking at the raceing rigs today I'm betting that a bit of research will prove that they're not as efficient.
Old 01-23-2007, 03:30 AM   #4
Commander

It's more a question of how many have ever sailed a gaff rigged boat. Like me, most probably haven't.

I will talk about the sloop rig and it's advantage to me. Ease of single handing. One main halyard, roller furled jib. I can reef in seconds, tack the boat and make it look like I have crew on board and can't remember ever being out sailed by a gaff rigged boat. I never have to leave the cockpit...a big deal when you are single handing and in heavy seas. Wind changes direction or speed...2 lines are probably all that is necessary to adjust the sail pattern. I have lazyjacks and a sailbag...the main is stowed in a few minutes. Cost...single main, single jib, 3 halyards (includes spinnaker), a few blocks, 4 winches to run the entire boat.