Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiser's Message Buoy > General Message Board
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 03-30-2016, 09:23 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Alameda
Vessel Name: Princess
Default Cruising a 42-foot power boat from San Francisco Bay to the Columbia River

I am an experienced skipper and own a 42-foot aft cabin Motor yacht. I'm the original owner having purchased the boat in 1988 at the New York Boat Show. It is currently berthed in Alameda California. It is powered by twin 210 Cummins diesels and Max's at about twelve knots and cruises at about 9 or 10 knots. The Vessel has fresh full fuel. The boat was hauled two weeks ago and has a fresh clean bottom and is in exceptional shape down below and throughout the vessel. It is my baby. I have my Master's Merchant Mariner license 100 tons + 7 endorsements and I am a California Yacht broker with experience of making 11 round trips from San Diego to San Francisco in this boat. I have moved to Salem Oregon to attend to my 94 year old father-in-law and would like to move the boat up the coast from San Francisco to the Columbia and then to the Multnomah River to a new berth closer to my home where I can enjoy it.
I have read the older threads most of which related to sailing vessels from San Francisco to the Columbia and I do not have the fuel capacity to go hundred and thirty-five miles offshore do the restrictions in my fuel range. The trip from San Diego to San Francisco I can stop every one hundred nautical miles or so to tuck in for safety and fuel up. This is not true coming from San Francisco to Oregon so I want advice as to whether I should Marina hop or should I load it on a truck and take it to either Portland OR Seattle? I appreciate any help that anyone can give me that is current thank you Captain Dave

Old 03-30-2016, 09:25 PM   #2
Ensign

Also, can anyone recommend a reliable ground transport company?

Old 04-07-2016, 06:35 PM   #3