Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 12-30-2009, 12:51 AM   #1
Ensign

I'm a novice so this may seem like a silly question. I understand anchor dragging is a concern. What if you attached something heavy to a line and a float, and dropped that where you drop your anchor? Of course you'd allow for tide fluctuation but it would stay afloat within the area you originally dropped the anchor. Could that give you a rough indication if your anchor was dragging? Of course you may swing and have to take that into consideration in judging but I imagine a drastic change would be obvious.

Has anyone tried this before or know something obvious I'm missing that would make this a silly idea?

Old 12-30-2009, 02:24 AM   #2
Rear Admiral

I'm certainly no expert, but...

Your idea would probably work... and it'll be easy to retreive when you raise your anchor... provided you haven't dragged.

We always make note of a few transit lines ashore by lining-up a light pole, building or any un-movable object with a distant mountain peak or something which gives us a quick reference when we wonder if we're holding.

But lately - I've learned the best method for me is to zoom in close on our chartplotter and place an anchor mark on the spot where our track line reverses on the screen. This way I can see exactly how we've been swinging on the hook over time. When currents & winds remain steady our anchor track lines add-up to a smile shape... which makes me smile in return, because I know we're securely anchored and holding fast. In areas of tidal & wind swings the track resembles a big blob... with the anchor symbol in about the middle. When the wind really pipes-up and we drag - our track line begins to drag to leward of the track mark and is immediately recognisable that we're dragging... and without even needing to see my transit references to make sure.