Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Free Sailing Crewfinders > Crew Positions Wanted
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 11-01-2012, 08:22 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Chicago
Send a message via Skype™ to chael777
Default March puddle jump - I want to crew

Hello everyone,

My name is Chael. I'm a 26 year old guy from Chicago, but I've been traveling for many years around Latin America. In late February I will be once more in Cartagena, Colombia, looking to crew to Panama. From Panama I would like to find a boat to join to make the jump across the Pacific.

I'm a very calm and level-headed person, talkative, patient, and curious. I have a bachelors degree in international studies, and I am fluent in Spanish, French and Portuguese. I enjoy reading and drawing, and keep an online travel narrative at velabas.com.

I have limited experience on sailboats, but I've crewed across the Sea of Cortez and from Panama to Colombia. I managed not to get sea sick on either occasion and pills were unnecessary. I can cook, and I'm a quick learner.

If you know of any boat headed across the Pacific to NZ or Australia or SE Asia, I would greatly appreciate contact with skippers to organize a meeting to see if we're a good fit. I can do anything and everything, but due to my limited funds I am banking on meeting a skipper who could cover my costs in exchange for the work.

Cheers

Old 11-02-2012, 02:04 AM   #2
Admiral

Home Port: Darwin
Vessel Name: Sandettie

G'day Cale. Nominations for the Pacific Puddle Jump open in December. Loads of yachts will have their names put forward and I think a look at the website around Christmas will be in your interests. Meanwhile, it would be rare for a voyaging skipper to cover your costs.