Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 12-26-2015, 04:12 PM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Cincinnati
Default New to cruising

Good day all. Although I'm 20 years or so away from retirement, I'm contemplating the idea of living on a boat and cruising the east coast to the southern Caribbean. I have zero sailing experience, but that can be changed. I'm leaning more towards powered boats, but wind sailing is intriguing. It will likely be 2 adults and a pet 90% of the time, but will host family and friends on occasion. I'm hopeful that this site will help me get my feet wet, pun intended....

Old 12-30-2015, 02:09 AM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

Welcome aboard! Enjoy reading the forums and contribute or ask questions where you can.

Is your work something that will allow you to become a nomad and take off before 20 years pass?

What we're doing - The sailing life aboard and the Schooner Chandlery.

redbopeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 04:38 PM   #3
Ensign

Home Port: Hamilton
Default Willing to Share

Hi Flack,
I have more than 6,000 miles of cruising experience in the Great Lakes and the North Atlantic. I've crewed on several boats on lengthy passages; researched sailboats, purchased an Alberg 29 & refitted it over three years for a trans-Atlantic crossing; transited the Erie Canal, the Welland Canal, the US Intra-Coastal Waterway and the St. Lawrence Seaway more than once. I have a lot to share and I sold my Alice Rose, so I'm missing cruising.
UnionJack
Old 01-03-2016, 12:56 PM   #4
Moderator/Wiki Sysop

Home Port: Samos
Vessel Name: S/Y Thetis

Welcome aboard. Also please take a look in our sister board, a wiki with port information maintained by fellow cruisers.

The World Cruising and Sailing Wiki

Help to build this free, online world Cruising Guide

Built by cruisers, for cruisers.