Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > The Poop Deck
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 04-01-2011, 04:10 PM   #1
Ensign

I am new to sailing and to this site- both of which are very exciting! I am an industrial designer at the Ohio State University. For my senior thesis I am going to redesign a 6 person life raft. I want to ask a couple of questions about the currents rafts and get different perspectives from experienced sailors!

My survey link is below- it's only 7 questions and won't take much time!

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/WJPPVXN

Thanks, I appreciate all the help!

Jamiep.s. If there is additional information you want to provide I can be reached via email!

Old 04-01-2011, 04:42 PM   #2
Retired Mod

Home Port: Durban

Second or third time around on this one. Getting paid for posting this survey around all the forums?

The World Cruising & Sailing Wiki

Help to build this free, online World Cruising Guide.

"Built by cruisers, for cruisers''

I've Contributed to the Cruisers Wiki: Most sections
Lighthouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 05:46 PM   #3
Admiral

I hope you come back to this site to read any comments that are here rather than expect your "survey" to tell you enough to design a new life raft. This is a cruising forum where we share information, and private conversations aren't really in the spirit of the forum or the cruising community.

Because I hold pretty strong opinions, it is better for them to be aired for all other cruisers to see and comment on, particularly with regard to something as little-used but so important as a life raft.

On of the better resources that a cruiser should exploit is the book Adrift: Seventy-six Days Lost at Sea by Steve Callahan, an extremely literate and intelligent story of one man's survival in a life raft.

Another one: Albatross: The True Story of a Woman's Survival at Sea by Deborah Scaling Kiley and Meg Noonan.