Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 01-10-2007, 05:07 AM   #1
Lieutenant

Default Triton vs Columbia 29 vs Alberg 30 vs CD

Hello

I'm new to this very nice and useful forum. Here is my problem.

I'm going to buy a small, blue water cruiser in US this winter. I'm looking for fiberglas boat, around 30', under $10,000 built in '60/'70. It seams that the options are:

Pearson Triton,

Columbia 29,

Bristol 29,

Alberg 30,

Grampian 30 (I would prefer full keel),

Cape Dory 28.

The boats seam to be almoast identical, but it's hard to find any information on the net except Triton and Cape Dory.

Does anyone have experience with those boats? I'm especially interested in comparison between Pearson Triton, Columbia 29 and Bristol 29. Fiberglass quality?

If you know any other good old boat, or know any bargain in Great Lakes area or East Cost please let me know

Thanks

Old 01-10-2007, 04:22 PM   #2
imported_admin

Hello Piotrek

We are happy to have you aboard - I'm sure some members will be along shortly to assist with your query.

Enjoy your stay.
Old 01-12-2007, 09:48 PM   #3
Lieutenant

Piotrek,

Just 6 years ago, I found myself looking at EXACTLY these same boats. My interest was in either an Alberg, Triton, Vanguard or Bristol 30 or 32. I did much research (sometimes hard to do on these older boats), and 5 years later, found a deal that I couldn't pass up on a Bristol 32. My desire after research leaned more toward the West Coast version of the Pearson Triton since these boats are complete fiberglass, no balsa core but it was a little too small for our requirements.