Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 06-16-2013, 02:59 AM   #1
Ensign

Home Port: Darwin
Default New Member

Ahoy mateys!

I'm Simon Ochen (pronounced 'Ocean'). I've decided to drop everything that is involved in the rat-race of life and barter my way around the world for the next 10-15 years.

I'm a writer so I've decided to become a Nomadic Writer and sail to get across large areas of water rather than fly.

I'm currently in Darwin seeking passage to Indonesia. I've placed signs at the Darwin Sailing Club, Tipperay and Bayview Marina and also at the Dinah Beach Cruising Yacht Association where I'm also doing some work to gain some experience (sanding, buffing, polishing and waxing of hulls so far).

I love the water. It's where I'm most comfortable. I surf, play guitar and am a pretty good cook (modestly speaking).

Would appreciate any assistance helping me realise my goal.

Thanks for checking this out.

Old 06-16-2013, 06:49 PM   #2

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

A lot of people think they're checking out when the decide to set sail. You'll find it's not so--the requirements of traveling country-to-country mean the cruising boat will be dealing with not just one country's bureaucracy, but that of many countries. Money is something needed to clear in and out of country and you will need to carry your own weight in terms of having money for your own clearance as well as sharing in the costs of food aboard ship. Rarely will it be a barter-ride for crew unless that crew is unusually skilled (read "sailor") and bringing a lot to the ship besides a friendly attitude.