Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruiserlog's Yacht Club > The Tavern | Welcome Aboard
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 10-09-2008, 03:24 PM   #1
Ensign

Hi, I'm a novice sailor who is desperately trying to get more experience and develope a plan for extended cruising. I'd like to just 'cut the lines and go!' You know, sell the house, cars, televisions, etc., buy a great cruising boat, and just sail away!

Enter my wife. She has to have a house. This is not negotiable. So, here I am. My only alternative is to get the largest trailerable boat I can find and try to get a job that allows me the time to enjoy it, like working for a local school system.

Any other ideas? Anybody done this type of thing and have some advice?

b. hinton

Old 10-09-2008, 04:11 PM   #2
Retired Mod

Home Port: Durban

Welcome aboard Bernie. Good luck with your plans - hope you go off cruising sooner than you thought.

The World Cruising & Sailing Wiki

Help to build this free, online World Cruising Guide.

"Built by cruisers, for cruisers''

I've Contributed to the Cruisers Wiki: Most sections
Lighthouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 06:00 PM   #3

Home Port: Washington DC
Vessel Name: SV Mahdee

Welcome to the Cruiser Log. A trailerable boat is a good way to go if you'd like to see many different areas but don't want to/or have time to sail all the way there. Also, if you don't have a slip available. Do you live somewhere that a boat in a slip isn't an option?