Go Back   Cruiser Log World Cruising & Sailing Forums > Cruising Forums > General Cruising Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login

Join Cruiser Log Today

Old 02-14-2006, 09:22 AM   #1
Ensign

Default circumnavigation questions

Hello out there!

I'm pretty new to all of this, but I'm hoping to get some long distance sailing in sometime in the not-too-distant future. Would anyone be willing to share some basic details with a complete amateur? Here are my principle questions:

- What time of year to most people start out on circumnavigational journeys? I'm sure this must depend on where they are starting out from, so let's assume we are starting somewhere in the USA. Do people go both directions (ie, starting with either an Atlantic or a Pacific crossing), and if so, how does that affect the recommended time of year to start?

- How long does such a journey normally take? I realize there is probably quite a bit of variation here as well, but any general estimates would be appreciated.

Here is my situation, just so you're aware of what I'm thinking (don't worry, this is not a "crew seeking ship" ad!): I will be finishing my second year of veterinary school at the end of May, and I am wondering about the possibility of crewing on a boat starting out at that time. I am supposed to start back for my 3rd year in mid-August, but I'm seriously considering taking a year off if I can find the right situation. That would leave me until August of 2007. The other option is that I could go through 3rd year until it finishes at the end of February of 2007. At that point, my class would be officially starting our 4th year as we begin our clinical rotations in the hospital. So, I could potentially take a year off from February 2007 to February 2008.